top of page
Nelson Molina_Primeira Sede da Escola Pa



At the end of the 1940s, three children's hospitals stood out for their doctors' work in the children's area of ​​Otorhinolaryngology. At Boston's Children's Hospital, Drs. Charles Ferguson and Carlyle Flake had wards dedicated to treating children with croup and operating room on the same floor. At the Los Angeles Children's Hospital, Dr. Seymour Cohen was dedicated to pediatric endoscopies. Dr. Blair Fearon of Toronto's Sick Children's Hospital has had much of his training with Dr. Robin Cotton.


In 1971, Dr. Sylvian Stool made a call at the meeting of the American Academy of Otorhinolaryngology and Ophthalmology (AAOOO) for all those interested in Pediatric Otorhinolaryngology to meet informally. Twenty doctors met and decided that the following year they would hold another meeting in Dallas. In 1973, SENTAC, The Society for Ear, Nose and Throat Advances in Children, Inc. was created , an interdisciplinary professional non-profit organization, with Dr. Robert Ruben as its first president.

In 1975, Dr. Basharat Jazbi organized the First International Symposium on Pediatric Otorhinolaryngology in Kansas City, Missouri. That same year, Dr. Charles Bluestone and Sylvian Stool created the first US Pediatric Otorhinolaryngology Fellowship program at Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh.

In 1985, ASPO, American Society of Pediatric Otolaryngology , was created at its first event in Bermuda.

Poland led the development of Pediatric Otorhinolaryngology in Europe, with its precursor being Dr. Jan Danielewicz, from the Mother and Child Hospital and University Hospital in Warsaw.

In 1977, Dr. Carlo Gatti Manacini, head of the Pediatric Otorhinolaryngology Department in Brescia (Italy), together with Drs. Renato Fior and Giuliano Giulio Pestanozza, organized the I WORLD CONGRESS ON PEDIATRIC OTORHINOLARINGOLOGY in Sirmione, Brescia, Italy. The Congress was considered a success with more than 400 participants from more than 29 countries and a precursor to the creation of ESPO, European Society of Pediatric Otolaryngology and The International Journal of Pediatric Otorhinolaryngology .

In 1982, under the organization of Dr. Robert Pracy, the II WORLD CONGRESS OF PEDIATRIC OTORHINOLARYNGOLOGY was held in Bath, United Kingdom.

The story of our Division is deeply intertwined with the creation of the subspecialty in Brazilian Otorhinolaryngology .

In August 1953, Dr. Alexandre Médicis da Silveira took the 1st Update Course in Pediatric Otorhinolaryngology in São Paulo. In the 1960s he was the forerunner and creator of the Pediatric Otorhinolaryngology Service at Hospital Infantil Menino Jesus in São Paulo.

In 1971 Dr. Moacyr Saffer organized the 1st Pediatric Otorhinolaryngology Course in Porto Alegre.

In 1996, the then Brazilian Society of Otorhinolaryngology (SBORL, currently ABORL-CCF), under the management of Dr. Paulo Augusto de Lima Pontes, created the Department of Pediatric Otorhinolaryngology, chaired at the time by Dr. Luc Louis Maurice Weckx and secretariat by Dr.ª Shirley Shizue Nagata Pignatari, with the function of advising SBORL in encouraging research in otorhinolaryngology in children and adolescents and disseminating knowledge in this area.

Also in the same year (1996), the Council of the Department of Otorhinolaryngology and Human Communication Disorders (current ORLC-CCP Department) at Escola Paulista de Medicina - UNIFESP requests the dean Dr. Hélio Egydio Nogueira to create the Discipline of Pediatric Otorhinolaryngology.

In the Official Gazette of the Union of January 17, 1997, the rector of Escola Paulista de Medicina designates Prof. Dr. Luc Louis Maurice Weckx to head the new Discipline.

The Discipline of Pediatric Otorhinolaryngology at EPM-UNIFESP starts its Fellowship program and is the pioneer in Latin America.

In 2004, during the ABORL-CCF General Assembly held during the Brazilian Congress of Otorhinolaryngology in Fortaleza-CE, the Brazilian Academy of Pediatric Otorhinolaryngology was created , with Dr. Luc Louis Maurice Weckx as one of the founders and the first president .

At Rua dos Otonis, 684, the "little house" of Pediatric Otorhinolaryngology grew and flourished for 15 years, being brilliantly conducted by Prof. Dr. Luc Louis Maurice Weckx until the date of his death in 2012, after a battle with cancer .

In 2011, Prof. Dr. Luc Louis Maurice Weckx and Prof.ª Dr.ª Shirley Shizue Nagata Pignatari

In 2013, under the leadership of Prof.ª Dr.ª Shirley Shizue Nagata Pignatari, the Pediatric Otorhinolaryngology Discipline breathed new air with the change of the ambulatory from its traditional address to Rua Coronel Lisboa, 856. In the new headquarters, both patients and their professionals can count on a broader and renewed structure, with a wide reception, area for nasofibrolaryngoscopy / telelaryngoscopy exams, attendance rooms and amphitheater for classes for undergraduate students and residents and fellows .

Since 2016, the Division is headed by Prof. Dr. Reginaldo R. Fujita.

Screen Shot 2020-06-01 at 22.46.52.png
Screen Shot 2020-06-01 at 22.46.42.png
Screen Shot 2020-06-02 at 00.12.03.png
Screen Shot 2020-06-02 at 00.12.15.png
WhatsApp Image 2020-06-04 at
WhatsApp Image 2020-06-04 at 18.49.13 (1
WhatsApp Image 2020-06-04 at 18.49.13 (6
WhatsApp Image 2020-06-04 at 18.49.13 (7
WhatsApp Image 2020-06-04 at 18.49.13 (2
WhatsApp Image 2020-06-04 at 18.49.13 (5
WhatsApp Image 2020-06-04 at 18.49.13 (4
WhatsApp Image 2020-06-04 at 18.49.13 (3
WhatsApp Image 2020-06-04 at 18.49.13 (8
bottom of page